The Buzz On Bee Pollen: Allergies, Veganism, And Much More
Posted on April 11, 2018.
Over the last 10 years or so, honey has become one of the most coveted foods around. Not only can it be used as a natural sugar substitute, but raw organic honey can even help some seasonal allergy sufferers. Due to its increasing popularity and the fact that bees are becoming scarcer, the retail price of honey has almost doubled since 2006. Recently, a new bee byproduct has emerged; now, it's trendy to search for bee pollen for sale and add it to your daily yogurt and granola for an extra energy boost in the morning. We've answered some common questions about bee pollen for sale and for consumption in the past, but we're talking more in-depth about this product in today's post.
Can you take bee pollen if you have certain allergies?
Always talk to your doctor before taking bee pollen or any bee products. While bee pollen is considered to be a superfood by many experts, it's important to note that it may not be advisable for everyone to consume it. If you are allergic to bees, suffer from hay fever, or have allergic reactions to pollen, you should consult with your doctor before ever buying bee pollen for sale. You should also talk to your doctor before trying bee pollen.
No matter what, until you know your status, you should proceed with caution. While bee pollen is not inherently dangerous by any means, people may experience different reactions to it. Your body will let you know if something is amiss after you've ingested a small amount for the first time; if you do not experience sneezing, watery eyes, or swelling of the lips, throat, or tongue 24 hours after consuming bee pollen, you probably won't have a negative reaction. Some people do claim that taking small amounts of bee pollen can lessen their reaction over time to seasonal allergy triggers. However, you should consult with a medical professional before testing your allergy limits in this way.
Is bee pollen vegan?
People who follow a vegan lifestyle will often cut out honey from their diet. Royal jelly capsules are also out, since extracting royal jelly can be stressful on bees. However, the answer to whether bee pollen is vegan or not is somewhat of a personal choice. Some vegans consider pollen to fall under the same umbrella as other bee products, while others consider bee pollen to be OK to consume. In addition, because beekeepers will often keep bees to benefit the environment in addition to producing honey and other related goods, many vegans feel that consuming bee pollen is fine. It's really up to the individual to determine whether bee pollen might be an ethical and healthy part of their diet.
How is bee pollen usually consumed?
One of the best things about buying bee pollen for sale is that it can be used in so many versatile ways. As we mentioned earlier, it can be added to yogurt or granola, but it can easily be blended into a smoothie, sprinkled into a salad dressing, used as a garnish for popcorn or dark chocolate, or consumed as a topping for just about anything. Although the taste can be described as sweet and flowery, it can still be used as a welcome complement to savory foods. Note that bee pollen should be stored in a refrigerator or freezer, as light and heat will decrease its nutritional value.
For those who get the go-ahead from their doctor and feel comfortable with incorporating it into their diet, bee pollen can add valuable nutrients and a whole lot of energy to your daily routine. To find out more about our bee pollen and honey, contact us today.