We are so excited to share with you that on September 9, the National Honey Board announced new board members for the next 3-year term, which begins January 1, 2020. Why are we so excited?

Well, it’s because our GloryBee President Alan Turanski is one of those new members! It’s a FIRST for GloryBee to have a representative on the National Honey Board, and we are incredibly proud of Alan.

The new members were appointed by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue after he carefully reviewed all qualified nominations.

National Honey Board CEO Margaret Lombard is excited too, saying “We are thrilled to welcome the newest appointees to the National Honey Board. The wealth of knowledge and expertise about the honey industry these individuals bring to the NHB is invaluable. We appreciate all time and energy our current and past Board Members and Alternates generously provide.”

Since our humble beginnings in a family garage in 1975, it has been part of GloryBee’s mission to educate people about healthy living, and that includes nature’s perfect sweetener! It’s thrilling to think that our educational efforts will now have a national reach as Alan adds his knowledge and passion to this influential organization!

The NHB is an industry-funded agriculture promotion group that works to educate consumers about the benefits and uses for honey and honey products through research, marketing and promotional programs. The Board's work, funded by an assessment on domestic and imported honey, is designed to increase the awareness and usage of honey by consumers, the foodservice industry and food manufacturers. The ten-member-Board, appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, represents producers (beekeepers), packers, importers and a marketing cooperative.